So
Intensive Beginners Italian classes are, indeed, intensive. We did nouns and plurals and adjectives and vocabulary and started on some verbs. I didn't get lost on the way despite much map-staring the night previous and general thoughts of fail from mom. (Why yes, I
am an incompetent moron who can't do anything at all. For the win, I say.) I made it back okay too. With homework. It's been a year and five months since I've had an actual class in anything. Wow.
In other news, I sent in two applications for jobs - lab tech and sustainability associate - so yay. I have a cover letter to write for lab tech work in Rome, which may go well. This is all just very discouraging because I have no aspirations - or rather, the few I had have been accomplished. "Really, Sickle? Seriously? You've done everything you ever wanted in this life?" y'all may say, incredulously, to which I shrug and say, "I aint' coming up with any other things I want. And that's the problem!" But. Honestly, if I'd known better - or had had a half decent career counselor or hell, a list of careers and what you need to study to get them - I'd have not done what I have. I'd've studied foresty if I wanted to stay in science - it has an applicable industry! - or done hotel management, or translation, or hell, even animal management. Something with obvious skills and options, not, "Coo-ee, I like studying about animals doing things!" Idiot. Ugh.
In further other news, I have too many creative projects and no time or oomf for them. On the other hand, I've started working out - doing those back exercises so I'm not a disfigured old crone, just a crazy spinster with a penchant for cats.
In completely unrelated news,
Doctor Who's latest was pretty good, but I was hoping - for bizarre imaginative reasons - that Amy would actually turn to stone for a bit, like flicker between stone and person. Anywho. Also, I was hoping for some joy in the way of
Castle but Unexplained Hiatus is Unexplained. And I should so totally make a
Nightmare On Elm Street (2010) tag: it's been on the
Links of the Day too oft for it not to have one.
Yeah, that's right, I said oft.
In sum: feh. And I seem to be having these mad waves of incredible flippin'
rage and frustration and anger and submerged wibbles. Adjusting, I am not. Duh.
Links of the Day:
Supernatural:
( Read more... )Doctor Who:
( Read more... )Nightmare on Elm Street (2010):
( Read more... )Ashes to Ashes:
( Read more... )Lost:
( Read more... )Heroes:
( Read more... )Random:
( Read more... )* Dan Castellaneta