Today I woke up a tad late, but thoroughly enjoyed my morning. I'm totally hooked reading
The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson, which is
awesome, so I did a lot of that. I went off to the market for fruit, of which there was a paltry selection, and bought way more curry sauces at the Asian store
Toko than I can shake vegetables at.
Dropping my stuff off, I hightailed (walking, not biking, for a change) it to one of the public pools in town so that I a) had something to do b) exercised and c) could ask them once and for all to explain their highly complicated hour-system. Turns out with the student gym card I can go for free Tuesday and Friday evenings for a single hour, so Wednesdays (2:00-3:30). Bizare schedules, but good enough. I think there's a pool (also operated by these people, or at least their email ending is the same) closer to my biology building, so I'll email them about schedules and stuff. (Maybe it's just their office, or the actual gym complex, though.)
I also
finally wandered down to the video rental place and became a member. The main reason (or at least what got me off my arse) was that I want to watch
The Exorcism of Emily Rose (I'm on a big horror movie thing right now). I couldn't find it, because the store has no concept of the alphabetical order, or even of the genre categories. (Eddie Murphey's
Vampire in Brooklyn, for example, was in
Horor, whilst
White Noise was in
Thriller, leaving
White Noise 2 (Nathan Fillion!) all alone in the
Horror section.)
So instead I rented SKing's
Desperation, of which I've read
the book. As with many horror/thriller books, I found the beginning good, but was sorely disappointed by the explanation/climax part. King's
Cell is highly guilty of this crime (Levitating?!?
Really?), as are many of Koontz's** (Of
course it was the Russians.) I happen to enjoy Koontz regardless, having read quite a few (although for gods' sake, I'm tired of the same ol' type of characters!). King I can say less on, having only read four of his books (My favorite?
The Eye of the Dragon, hands down.) and a collection of short stories (
The Night Shift, which proved unforgettable***, awesome, and a surprisingly good beach book). I've only watched one**** King movie (
The Shining, meh), but want to watch
Cujo and
Carrie. As for Koontz, I
need to watch
Hideaway. Why? Two words: Jeff Goldblum.
So I'm off to watch
Desperation. I remember some gory bits, some plot-point objects, but not much else, so hopefully it'll be a good run. Plus, it's from 2006 and was nominated for two Primetime Emmys, which means a) no 1990's style gore effects and b) it was pretty good (for TV, at least). I don't recognize any names, which could be a good or bad sign. (Also, there's absolutely no one home. Wish me luck!)
ETA: Y'all are more than welcome to share you favorite horror novels or movies, or wax eloquent (or disdainfully) on King or Koontz.
ETA 2: My night-table lamp just died. Crud. *glares* Excellent timing, lamp. *points at horror movie* Most excellent indeed.
Links of the Day:
( Read more... )* Dean Koonz, The Book of Counted Sorrows
** The Door to December and False Memory, my absoolute favorite of his.
*** I could probably give you a good rundown for all of the stories.
**** I lie: I watched The Children of the Corn, but was so disappointed by it, especially in comparison to the short story, that I pretend this never happened.