bending_sickle: (Hey dude)
[personal profile] bending_sickle
Life in Sickledom, the Abridged Version: Easter Vigil (3 hour Mass! 4 hour total!) last night was exciting, awesome and then OMGMAKEITSTOPITSMIDNIGHT. Easter benediction today. Pope sightings galore. Also, lamb and chocolate egg. Mmmm.

Fandom in Sickledom, the Abridged Version: Still dying to watch latest SPN - WHY IS EVERYONE SO SAD?!? - and flailing because didn't realize that Ashes to Ashes and Doctor Who started up again.


Meme: The Colours of My Life via [livejournal.com profile] oakenguy
Comment here and I will give you a color. Then, in your journal, list ten things you love that are that color.

My colour: blue


1. Blueberry pie - It's delicious!
2. Ocean - It's big! And pretty! (And kinda scary!)
3. Blue roses - They're pretty! And fake!
4. Hair - I just like it.
5. Blue Rodeo - The Canadian Band of Win.
6. Blue-tongued skink - It's hard to forget a little guy like that.
7. Sky - It's big, it's blue, it's there.
8. Betsy - My itty-bitty guitar!
9. People - The Smurfs, Dr Manahattan, Nightcrawler, they're all good. (Yes, even the Avatar folk. Come one! USB-Braids! How is that not awesome?!?)
10. Livejournal - ♥

Okay, so I was really reaching for blue things. I love the colour, but damned if I couldn't think of blue things I liked. *sigh*


Links of the Day:

Supernatural:
[livejournal.com profile] i_o_r_h_a_e_l's Review Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] dodger_winslow's Review Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] yourlibrarian's Reivew Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] noxelementalist's Review Dead Men Don't Wear Plaid and Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] monicawoe's Reivew and Meta Dark Side of the Moon and Sam's Anger
[livejournal.com profile] supernaturallvr's Review Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] meret's Review Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] threecatmama's Review Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] vire_volte's Review Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] luxplatinumbaby's Meta Dark Side of the Moon and The Passion of Dean Winchester
[livejournal.com profile] ethrosdemon's Meta Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] minim_calibre's Meta Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] cirramin's Fic Take These Sunken Eyes and Learn To See (Sam/Dean)
[livejournal.com profile] eviltwin's Fic Msterpost: The Double Theft Job (J2 AU)
[livejournal.com profile] rageprufrock's Fic It Doesn't Mean You Can Explain the Ocean, Unasked
[livejournal.com profile] the_fmly_bzns's Darks Side of the Moon Coda Fic The Offer Stands
[livejournal.com profile] 2naonh3_cl2's AudioFic Anything Worth Dying For, written by [livejournal.com profile] waldorph
[livejournal.com profile] kaiyote's Fanvid You let Me Down (Castiel)
[livejournal.com profile] aesc's Fanvid Through the Wire: Team Free Will
[livejournal.com profile] docrock06's Fanvid World Of Lies (Sam)
[livejournal.com profile] shiroi_yami's Fanvid I Believe in Nothing - SPOILERS for 5x16
[livejournal.com profile] lere8's Dark Side of the Moon GIFs, Dark Side of the Moon Icons
[livejournal.com profile] cakeholes and [livejournal.com profile] tehuberfangirl's Icon Battle - OMFG Pocket!Cas FTW!
[livejournal.com profile] mata090680's Dark Side of the Moon Icons
[livejournal.com profile] chaotic4life's Scan Jensen Ackles in Soap Opera Digest April 13
[livejournal.com profile] light_ofmy_life's Dark Side of the Moon Icons
[livejournal.com profile] nito_punk's Promo Icons
[livejournal.com profile] kros_21's JIB Con - Jared's Panel, JIB Con - Jensen's Panel
[livejournal.com profile] germanjj's [livejournal.com profile] dean_sam-flocked Review Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] wolfpup2000's [livejournal.com profile] dean_sam-flocked LA Con Photos Links, Part 2
[livejournal.com profile] adrenalineshots's [livejournal.com profile] dean_sam-flocked Dark Side of the Moon Coda Fic Light Side of the Moon and Fireworks
[livejournal.com profile] lissa_ann's [livejournal.com profile] dean_sam-flocked Dark Side of the Moon Coda Fic Maybe It's Just Easier
[livejournal.com profile] tearaphoenix's [livejournal.com profile] dean_sam-flocked Fanvid Idea of Heaven - SPOILERS for 5x16
[livejournal.com profile] germanjj's [livejournal.com profile] dean_sam-flocked> Review Dark Side of the Moon
[livejournal.com profile] kaz_tiel's [livejournal.com profile] dean_sam-flocked Fic Yes (Sam)
[livejournal.com profile] dean_sam-flocked LA Con Report (Source), Scans of Official Magazine #16: Devil's In the Details, Animated Icons of Misha crashing the J2 JIB Panel, J2 Talk on Italian TV, Video of Misha crashing the J2 JIB Panel, J2 Breaking the Egg at JIB, J2 Panel LA CON Video and Transcripts, Videos of Jensen Singing, Jensen and Jason Manns Singing, Jensen singing "The Weight" (Downloads), Jensen Singing at JIB Con
Supernatural Wiki's Jus In Bello Convention Page
YouTube's Ghostfacers: Web Series sneak Peek

Lost:
[livejournal.com profile] apologizeg's Icons
[livejournal.com profile] divkas_constant's Season 6 Icons
People Magazine interview: Daniel Dae Kim on the Series Finale
Benry Knows Best Comic: Don't Really Know Clouds, Foreign Exchange

Doctor Who:
[livejournal.com profile] 45eugenia's flocked Review 5x01
[livejournal.com profile] redscharlach's Review 5x01
[livejournal.com profile] who_daily's Reaction Post Masterlist for 5x01
[livejournal.com profile] infinitejoys' Picspam Fifty Fabulous Fashions From Classic Doctor Who
[livejournal.com profile] davidbrider's 'Cos Here's the Thing - Squee on Eleven
[livejournal.com profile] tennant_love's flocked Audio Original Download: Dead Air
[livejournal.com profile] skeletree's Fanvid Remember the Name (The Master)

Ashes to Ashes:
[livejournal.com profile] qthewetsprocket's 3x01 Review

Multifandom:
[livejournal.com profile] rubber_dick's Icons - Celebrities, Avatar, Doctor Who, Glee, Gossip Girl, HIMYM, SPN, Skins, Legend of the Seeker, Lost, Merlin
[livejournal.com profile] ensanglante's Icons - Celebrities, Alice in Wonderland, Enchanted, Harry Potter, Sherlock Holmes, House, Legend of the Seeker, Lost, Merlin, SPN, The Mentalist, The Vampire Diaries, Bones, True Blood, V, Chuck, Fringe, Glee
[livejournal.com profile] absolutelybatty's Icons - House, Merlin, SPN
[livejournal.com profile] llenka's Icons - Allison Mack, Chuck, Community, HIMYM, Kristin Kreuk, SPN, Smallville, The Vampire Diaries
[livejournal.com profile] soopie's Icons - Lost, SPN

Other Fandom:
[livejournal.com profile] queenanthai's On Nightmare on Elm Street Remake *spit* and Original, Review of Nightmare on Elm Street Remake Script
IMDB's Splice - WANT
YouTube's 90 Minute Review of Attack of the Clones

Random:
[livejournal.com profile] n_e_e_d_l_e_s_s's Amsterdam Photos
Philip Pullman on censorship and free speech - pithy and wonderfulazzle's Shirt: Having an Autism
April's Art Gallery
Neil Gaiman's Stories: All new Tales Edited by Neil Gaiman, Al Sarrantonio and Instructions, illustrated by Charles Vess - Second book: WANT


* Heavingdeadcats, here

Date: 2010-04-05 12:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oakenguy.livejournal.com
That was really good! I wound up having a lot of trouble by #6 or 7 in my color list.

And between the live action Smurfs movie, Avatar, and Duke getting to the finals in college basketball it feels like there's been a LOT of talk about blue people this year. Which I'm okay with. :)

Date: 2010-04-05 09:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
After you've watched SPN, are you maybe up for some discussion? :)

Also, Doctor Who totally was made of win! :D

Also: I love you :D

Date: 2010-04-05 09:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
OMFG JUST WATCHED SPN LAST NIGHT. OW MY HEART. DISCUSS.

I'm still behind on Doctor Who but glad to know it's a win.

I ♥^infinity you.

Date: 2010-04-05 11:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
HOKAY.

I mean, all these memories supposedly were so wonderful as to get a place in Sam’s and in Dean’s own heaven, right? But in my opinion, every single one of these memories was tinted with pain. Allow me to insert a chart (because I'm a total geek like that.) Also, sorry, but I have to split it in several comments, since LJ doesn't let me post it as a whole :(

 

Supposed happiness?

True nature of the memory?

Dean relives July 4th with a littler (although no less adorable)version of Sam 

  • Dean awakes out of the memory by remembering Sam being murdered
  • Wee!Sam also disappears

Sam relives his first ‘real’ Thanksgiving

  • Sam remembers how they never had a Thanksgiving, how those they had ended with John passing out on the couch

Mary in their old house

  • Mary is fighting with John
  • Sam is excluded from the memory (can't talk to Mary etc., doesn't get a sandwich!)
  • Dean would never wear such a fucking ugly shirt

Date: 2010-04-05 11:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com

 

Sam’s two-week hideout (and, god, the adorable dog! Although I do know you a rather a cat person, but nonetheless ;)

  • Dean was worried sick about Sam
  • John was pissed as hell at Dean
  • … should we really believe that Sam hadn’t been feeling the least bit lonely without Dean? 

The night Sam left for Stanford

  • Tied to the epic fight Sam and John had
  • Dean still feels betrayed by Sam’s departure
  •  Again, don’t tell me Sam was actually happy as he was leaving. Relieved, maybe. Angry as fuck. But not happy. How could you not feel even a little bit like dying when your parent tells you to not come back, that you're a fucking failure, when you leave behind your sibling (and pretty much your best friend at that)?

Date: 2010-04-05 11:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com

 

Back in their old house

  • Mary is completely distorted by Zachariah, telling Dean she doesn't love him, recounting the events of the night she died etc.
 


This is just a theory. But how in the hell could anyone consider any of these memories happy? Where’s Jess? Certainly she belonged to one of Sam’s best, happiest memories, no? So where is she? Why hasn’t Sam seen any memory tied to Dean? No one could ever make me believe that Dean doesn’t belong into Sam’s happiest memories. It's just… completely illogical! From what we know, from what we have seen of the boys in the earlier years? Illogical.

So, you know? All this talk of Sam not being dedicated enough, of not caring for Dean even one single bit, of being one "ungrateful bastard" (oh fandom how I love thee so)? I just don’t know what to say. I have to believe the writers have thought these matters through, that this is deliberate, but slowly I’m starting to believe they wrote this episode just so they could revive the ancient conflict between these two. Dean throwing away his amulet was a total tear-jerker, of course, but I’m ridiculously sure that Sam has retrieved it and will give it back in due time, and all will be well again.

But I really just don’t know what to make out of that whole "Sam doesn’t give a shit about Dean and would rather be away" deal. Because I don’t believe it.

Heaven didn't seem very happy in the first place, anyway. No wonder things get fucked up up there.

I hope this makes sense. :/ I'm just trying to understand all of this... also: OMFG SO MUCH SPAM.

Date: 2010-04-05 12:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
... if you're wondering what point I was trying to make, I kinda don't get it myself anymore.

But I'm pretty sure I wanted to show how something was fucked up with these memories/heaven, and that Sam is not an uncaring bastard.

YESH. That was it! :D

Date: 2010-04-05 03:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
Sammykins is so NOT an uncaring bastard that there is not enough flail in the world for me. He's a walking pillar of caring! He's a Care Bear Puppy! (Adorable Dog was Adorable indeed!)

As for the memories, we're just taking it at whoever-said-it's word that they are supposed to be the happiest ever. I think a) Zachariah was being a douche and giving them sucky memories to live over and over again (which goes well with his, "Don't be BFFs! Your life sucks! Go say YES, mudmonkeys!" plan) and b) if there was no tampering, then I think it's just Heaven going, "Oh hai, you're in Heaven! Um that was an unexpected death, so give us a minute to get your Greastest Hits up and running. Meanwhile, have some Moderately Good Memories. Or, y'know, c) The Winchesters angst is too much for Heaven to fight and it's Sucky Memories all the way for them.

I think Dean is the whole world for Sam. I mean, omg his face when Dean dropped the amulet, and in Heaven, when he was trying to explain and defend his memories and choices, trying to convince Dean that it wasn't that Sam didn't love him but that Sam wanted to be his own person too, or that he would've liked a normal family to go with the awesome older brother.

...why do I not have an SPN icon?!? Fail!

Date: 2010-04-06 12:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
Don't you ever get tired of being right?! ;)

I knew you would arrange my topsy-turvy clumsy attempt at pointing out stuff and not knowing what to make out of it. So thank you for perpetually putting up with my ramblings. ♥

[...] Trying to convince Dean that it wasn't that Sam didn't love him but that Sam wanted to be his own person too, or that he would've liked a normal family to go with the awesome older brother.

THIS. True facts, Adri. But sadly no one else seems to think so - everyone is all out and about to bash Sam, again. Pf. In conclusion, fandom makes me go all: . Or, alternatively:

Whichever - you, my dear, make me go like that:

Gasp, Adri! No SPN icon! *runs to defriend you* ;)

Date: 2010-04-07 08:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
But...but I have an SPN banner! And mood theme! Surely that counts in place of an icon?!?

People've been bashing on Sam for years (or, well, the past two or three seasons) and I just don't get it. I mean, Dean's no poster boy either (unless you mean in the "Mmm, yum, hot stuff" sense) and Sam's just too adorable and freakin' earnest and "Must do good!" to be hated. *hearts Sammy*

*chases after you and hugs you*

Date: 2010-04-08 10:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
All right, all right... I won't be defrieding you right away.

I have no idea why anyone ever would want to bash Sam, Jesus. Just... look at his hair! How could you bash someone with such floppy hair?! DO NOT UNDERSTAND.

*nobly suffers through your hug, o SPN-icon-less* Dear God, what am I doing to the English language *facepalm* Feel free to defriend me, Adri.

Date: 2010-04-05 03:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
Also, your Meta Table of Awesomeness >>> my incoherent flailing capslock.

Also, ♥

Date: 2010-04-06 12:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
So not.

God, Adri. I'm so obsessed with Sherlock Holmes (2009), it's not even funny anymore. /totally random

Date: 2010-04-07 08:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
Is too.

Sherlock Holmes is totally obsession-worthy. Mm, pretty boys in pretty hats...

Also: OMG GIRL, GOT YOUR POSTCARD OF WIN AND AWESOME! THANKEEEE! ♥

Date: 2010-04-08 10:53 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
♥♥♥♥ I'm so happy you liked it, darling! Love you! :)

PRETTY BOYS AND HATS = DEFINITION OF EPIC WIN

Date: 2010-04-05 03:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
PS: Currently watching Doctor Who. "Beans are evil!" BWAHAHAHA!

Date: 2010-04-06 12:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
It was made of total win, no?

Although I was feeling sentimental, what with NO DAVID TENNANT and all D: *shakes fist at him* COME BACK DAMNIT COME BACK

Date: 2010-04-07 08:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
Did you ever go back and watch Season One with Christopher Eccleston? To compare Doctors, I mean?

And I wasn't missing Tennant too much because New!Doctor was still acting a bit like My!Doctor, but the lack of Tennant will hit me, I'm sure, and then I will be all emotional.

Date: 2010-04-07 08:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
Also, yes, total win. But you know what was more win? The season preview. (e.g. Weeping Angels ftw!)

Date: 2010-04-08 10:56 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
Hee, thought you would like that ;)

I did watch ... a quarter, I think? ... of S1 Ep1 - and maybe that was just me being extra desperate because of the lack of David Tennant - but I just didn't feel that Doctor vibe with Christopher Eccleston :/

New!Doctor is splendid, on the other hand. A lot of Doctor vibe there ♥

But... David Tennant *whines* No new material to feed my crush with! D:

Date: 2010-04-08 08:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
Duuuuude, there's so much more David Tennant stuff out there! Get thee to YouTube! Or your online television of choice! It'd be a crime to let that crush just up and starve, wouldn't it? Remember those Video Diaries of his? And other shows and movies of his which are on the 'Tube? Go go go! (Once you get your technology up and running again.)

Profile

bending_sickle: (Default)
bending_sickle

February 2017

S M T W T F S
   1 234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 06:51 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios