Congratulations on the gay filth!*
Oct. 18th, 2010 09:19 pmSickle's "I can't be bothered to be coherent, have some bullet points instead" entry:
Sickle's Quick Review: Supernatural 6x03, "The Third Man":
Sickle's Quick Review: Supernatural 6x04, "Weekend at Bobby's":
Videos of the Day: ZOMGitsCriss's Preventing Lesbianism? and BBC's Are We Born straight or Gay? The Making of Me: John Barrowman
Links of the Day:
Supernatural:
seesmooshrun's My Day on Location with Supernatural
leonidaslion's Beserker!Verse Fic Life
YouTube's On Set With Director Jensen Ackles [Episode 6x04]
Other Fandom:
ceruleanghost's Casanova GIFs
yumemisama's On Rob Thomas, More on Rob Thomas
Geekosystem's Inception Memes
Multifandom:
whomever's Icons - Angel, BtVS, Dollhouse, Sherlock
suave_badass' Icons - Supernatural, Let the Right One In, True Blood, Lady Gaga, Chris Pine
Random:
rex_dart's Picspam Trip to Japan
Kevin and Ursula Eat Cheap's Episode 6 - "It's your fault for not wearing ballistic eyewear."
* Bill Bailey, "Never Mind the Buzzcocks" 19x07
- I totally had a freakout this morning about getting out of the house or finding something to wear or being on time or something. It wasn't pretty, but it wasn't cripling either. Just a lot of rapid breathing and self-coaxing and mild panic.
- The cold that's been ravaging my parents this weekend has finally struck me down. My throat's got gnomes scratching their nails down it and my head's hot and squishy.
- I watched Finding Home yesterday on YouTube because it had Misha. His long blonde hair phase reminded me too much of Karla to be comfortable at first and truly appreciate the view. I liked his character, although like most characters in that movie there wasn't much "character" to go around. I loved how soft-spoken he was, though. (Is there any incarnation of Misha's voice that I do not like? I think not.) The movie itself was decent enough, although you could tell from the story - how it was set up and how certain motifs were played out and repeated - that it was based on a story. Sometimes I felt like smacking the characters, though, and I found the sexual assualt scene incredibly upsetting for some reason, although it wasn't graphic. (I mean, it focused on the "woman fights man off desperately" rather than the "woman stripped and abused" aspect, and it never got too far anyway. I just found it so horrible.)
- I'm somewhat bored. Although I have quite a bit of things to do, I can't seem to do them. I seem to suck at giving my days structure. I was going to write tonight, but the squishy-headedness and all isn't helping, so I think I'll rewatch Devour and snark at it in written form, which is something I've been meaning to do for a while.
- I had my first sip of tequila tonight. It really was just a sip. It wasn't anything fantastic, and it burnt a bit, but dad had been going on about how it was the best tequila he'd ever had so I thought, "Hey, I've never tried it, so why not try a good version for the first time?"
Sickle's Quick Review: Supernatural 6x03, "The Third Man":
- Castiel! (Yes, this deserves its own bullet point.)
- Sam's immitation of the Castiel voice was hilarious. I think that scene, with Sam talking to Castiel, was the first time all season that Sam felt like Sam again, in all his bitchface glory. Oh Sammy, I miss you.
- Air quotes of win! I love seeing Castiel frustrated.
- I want more Balthazar. In fact, I want Balthazar to sit down with Gabriel and Crowley and just talk. It'd be glorious.
- Interesting that Dean looked at Sam when Balthazar asked if he knew what power souls had. I mean, he could obviously be thinking about selling his soul for Sam, but then again, something is wrong with Sam and maybe souls enter into it.
- Dear Dean: You went to Hell because your soul was bought and paid for. There were a lot of demons in the pit had it in for you and would've gone out of their way to make your stay in Hell as horrific as possible even if you hadn't been the first key. But you were the first key and therefore had the undivided attention of the whole of Hell - including its best torturer - and they wanted nothing more than for you to break.
Sam, on the other hand, was in an impenetrable cage which no one could even glimpse at somewhere in the deepest bowels of Hell. Not only that, but he was probably under most of the time, with Lucifer at the helm, raging at the bars and at Michael. Sam probably didn't notice much of what was going on, or if he did, was probably bored. At the very worst, all he could do was think. No one was trying to break his soul into pieces. In fact, no one probably noticed he was there (not that there was anyone to notice apart from his cage-mates). So yeah, you two had very different experiences of Hell. - The first time I watched this episode, I stopped the video before realizing there was a Soon bit. The second time I stuck around to watch it and all I can say is, if we don't get a move on and find out what the hell is wrong with Sam, I will be a very frowny-faced person.
- Also, two episodes in a row without Grandpa Cambell? Oh, how glorious. (Not that I don't care about that plot line, I just can't stand him. Skeevey, evil thing.)
- So we've had two episodes about monsters and their fathers, and now two episodes about souls and their purchase. Yeah, I got nothing besides that. Just thought I'd point that out.
Sickle's Quick Review: Supernatural 6x04, "Weekend at Bobby's":
- I don't know a lot about directing apart from the general idea that they basically organize everything, so I can't comment too much on Jensen's debut. However, I didn't feel the the direction - by which I mean the camera angles and whatnot - pulled me out of the story, or called unnecessary attention to itelf, so for that unobtrusiveness and subtly, I say good job, Mr. Ackles. (Also, it makes my heart all squishy with joy to hear how happy everyone was with his directing. They're just gushing, and it's so sweet!)
- Crowley! (Yes, he too deserves his own bullet point.)
- Finally, some Bobby-centric time. The man's very busy. And it makes sense, because he wouldn't have gone to all that trouble with the multiple phone lines if he wasn't also the go-to guy for other hunters.
- I love the show's montages to little bits. Bobby's was no exception.
- "Hey, have you seen Drag Me to Hell?" *snerk*
- Snarky crossroads demon was pretty awesome. "You're going to get that or what?"
- When did Bobby move town? Or move neighbourhood? And why?
- Marcy and her fake woodchipper troubles was adorable ♥
- I was very uncomfortable with Bobby torching the crossroads demon. That was just too dark. I mean, the torture was bad enough - and sheesh, who on this show hasn't tortured someone by now? - but the slow and crispy execution was hard to watch. Whatever happened to the Bobby who stopped Dean from wailing it on Meg because the demon was possessing a person?
- "No, we had a deal!" "I gave it my best effort." Ouch. I missed that the first time 'round. Bobby, you harsh.
- I love how Bobby is Rufus' "friend you go to when you need to bury a body".
- Bobby's been hunting in Japan and I want to know more.
- Sam's face hitting the pole and then him being pulled away - and his face and that little "geeah" sound he makes - makes me giggle like a fiend every time. Oh Sam ♥
- "I gotta stash this ring!" "Don't swallow it." "Right, I'm swallowing it, Bobby!" "Don't swallow it." *gulp* :D
- I adore Rufus and his "okie dokie". More of him, please.
- "Do I look like Dr Phil to you?" *Crowley and Sickle speak simultaneously* "A little." :D
- Why does Crowley have an English accent if he was Scottish? I mean, did he change it on purpose? Or did he lose it over centuries of dealing in England? Because they didn't have to make him Scottish. I mean, apart from the give-away stereotypical clue of "Oi, I drink real Scotch!" Besides, Bobby didn't know how old Crowley was. Maybe when Crowley was human, even the most obscure Scotch was readily available outside of its little distillery town.
- It just goes to show how much the dad Bobby's become, with the boys calling him to whinge about everything and expect him to drop everything for their troubles. "Seriously, though, a little selfish." Oh, Dean...
- Who's Sam talking to on the phone, outside, away from Dean? This does not bode well!
- "I got to take this, it's important." "More important than Sam?" Oh Dean, Sam really is your world, isn't he?
- Now we know why Crowley was so upset they ate his tailor! He was one too, once, and tailors got to stick together.
- Crowly's immitation of Bobby ("But I'm surely and I got mah beard!") and Bobby's immiation of him ("We just 'saved the soddin' world together' and you're too good to drink with me?") was win, win, win!
- Why did it take me so long to realize that Dean was sitting on the right side of the car because they'd taken a rental? It just looked like a funny angle, and then it clicked. *has the dumb*
- Damnit! Let Bobby eat his peach cobbler!
Videos of the Day: ZOMGitsCriss's Preventing Lesbianism? and BBC's Are We Born straight or Gay? The Making of Me: John Barrowman
Links of the Day:
Supernatural:
YouTube's On Set With Director Jensen Ackles [Episode 6x04]
Other Fandom:
Geekosystem's Inception Memes
Multifandom:
Random:
Kevin and Ursula Eat Cheap's Episode 6 - "It's your fault for not wearing ballistic eyewear."
* Bill Bailey, "Never Mind the Buzzcocks" 19x07
no subject
Date: 2010-10-18 10:33 pm (UTC)*draws a heart on your nose*
no subject
Date: 2010-10-19 06:18 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-10-19 02:57 am (UTC)xxx
Kit Kat
no subject
Date: 2010-10-19 06:17 am (UTC)Coherency: 0.
Date: 2010-10-19 02:59 pm (UTC)And, your first sip of tequila, aw! *grins* (*shifty eyes* HOW AM I THE MORE EXPERIENCED ON MATTERS OF ALCOHOL HERE ANYWAY? Is it so?)
*skips the Supernatural reviews* Spoilers, spoilerrrrrs :D
... "GAY BRAINS" ??? I mean, nice to know there is semi-scientific (?) proof we're born with our particular sexuality, but... GAY BRAINS WHAT, SERIOUSLY? ok, done now. :D
Re: Coherency: 0.
Date: 2010-10-19 03:52 pm (UTC)The brains apparently look different and everything, although by "different" scientists mean "lies outside the average bell curve for males and is sorta closer to the female bell curve, or vice versa" because bell curves own all.
Speaking of my lack of alcoholic experience, I've had only two separate sips of whiskey. (Blargh!) I do, however, know what Sex on the Beach tastes like (delicious!) and loathe Baileys (at least on the rocks - what a way to ruin a brownie!). I'm also well-acquainted in the wine, sherry, and martini variety of things.
Re: Coherency: 0.
Date: 2010-10-19 05:50 pm (UTC)But... why? And are "lesbian brains" closer to the male bell curve, then, and what does it mean, anyway? What about bisexual people? (Please don't feel pestered! Although there probably is some kind of social obligation for SCIENTISTS, Missy, to enlighten sad little uneducated people like me, hee.)
TWO SEPARATE SIPS OF WHISKEY, WHAT? I like myself some Whiskey! Uh, yes. *shifty eyes* What I don't like is the sweet stuff, VOKDA (viiile! viiile!) and I'm not really a wine drinker either (except Glühwein! Glühwein ftw!). I like Caipirinhas, Whiskey, champagne, beer. And Baileys! ;p Tequila is only good as a chaser sort of thing, imo, and I've never tried Sex on the Beach or sherry or martinis. :|
(Jesus, this must seem like I'm some kind of alcoholic. Ahem.)
On another notion, my German prof has been going on and on how many thieves there are in Rome and how we should NEVER EVER put ANYTHING in our bags when walking around ("Keep your valuables on you at all times! Inside you!" This, as I bet you can imagine, has made for some truly inspiring conversations). Furthermore, upon the question But how do the locals carry their stuff around?, we learned that Romans don't actually need such pedestrian things as bags, they take whatever they need off the tourists.
So, Adri.
:D
Re: Coherency: 0.
Date: 2010-10-19 06:26 pm (UTC)Oh yes, beer! I'm a recent convert because OMG BELGIAN AND GERMAN BEER FTW. *drools*
Pff. I've lived in so many places where people are all, "OMG THE THIEVES!" (e.g. Mexico City). I carry a purse, and I've got things in it I wouldn't want stolen, but I keep my purse firmly under my arm with the zipper basically up my armpit, so no one's getting past that without me knowing, and there's have to be some serious kerfuffleing before they wrestled it away. Also, I stay away from shifty places and shifty times (e.g. do not be the single young female with the big purse walking down the wee dark alley). Sure, when I travel, I keep my passport on my person (down my shirt in those tourist pouches) but I'm not going to start stuffing my wallet down my undies and my house keys in my shoes. And of course Romans carry bags! Where would fashion be without purses?!?
PS: WATCH SUPERNATURAL, DAMNATION!
no subject
Date: 2010-10-22 07:51 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-10-22 08:21 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-10-22 09:02 pm (UTC)