bending_sickle: (Happy cup (not helping))
[personal profile] bending_sickle
I kinda drowned in Dodo-down today :(

Mom called and I was all a-wibble and bitter and that made for a bad conversation, not that we talked about anything important, just about stuff I need to pack for Spain and stuff like that. The Emergency Kleenex by my desk was needed, and I crawled under my covers for a while after the call to settle down and stop being a sad wet mop.

I cleaned the house whilst listening to the Blending In podcast for Human Target, which is one awesome podcast. Then I wandered off to the Hague where I, well, wandered. It was freakishly cold and snowing and everything was closed, so nothing much came out of that.

My brother called - he couldn't get a hold of my Great Aunt, who's birthday it is today - and apparently wanted to see how I was doing or something ridiculous like that. We didn't say much to each other, so that was another wibble-fest right there.

I'd meant to watch The Box but that meant I had to while away three or so hours until the movie's showing time - walking around in circles and finally finding a cafe where I could sit and sip and almost-wibble for an hour - and when I got the the theatre, the ticket booths weren't working and whole place was so freakin' crowded that I just said, "Fuck it, let's go home."


Watchmen Live-Post with [livejournal.com profile] seschat: Highlights of the epic 171 commentfest and plotbunnies that need corralling.

[livejournal.com profile] seschat and I had been planning on watching Watchmen together - through comments - for a while now, and finally got everything right so we could embark on this epic foray.

In a world where there's three different cuts of the movie (original release, director's cut and ultimate cut), we were lucky enough to both have the same version. Sort of... (The Castiel voice - otherwise known as the Batman voice - refers, of course, to Rorscach's raspy growl.)
[livejournal.com profile] bending_sickle: When you say German version, please please please don't mean dubbed! The Castiel-style voice won't be the same!
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: It's dubbed. :( Sorry! :( [...] I'm also in mourning of the Castiel voice.

[livejournal.com profile] bending_sickle: Omg, you're not getting sexy!JDM voice! You're getting German!dub!voice D: Woe!
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: NOOOOOOOOO! I want sexy!JDM!voice! :(

Sometimes, even the most avid fan can fail to spot an actor. Case in point, the following exchange occurs:
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: But there's Jeffery Dean Morgan? :D
[livejournal.com profile] bending_sickle: Papa Winchester makes everything better :D
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: Definitely ;)

But it isn't until about an hour later, that this happens. (See? Those masks are effective! I love you, [livejournal.com profile] seschat!)
[livejournal.com profile] bending_sickle: How do you feel about Papa Winchester now?
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: There wasn't any Papa Winchester yet? [...] Oh. My. God. The Comedian is Papa Winchester?!?!?!

[livejournal.com profile] seschat: Have you ever noticed that Rorschach composes his diary entries in a very Bridget Jones-esque style? *coughs* ;)
[livejournal.com profile] bending_sickle: *endless sporfle* Today was v. good. Still on diet (beans). Dying for a cigarette, but voice is starting to be weird. Still no boyfriend. Will be spinster forever!

Rorshach's being tackled by the swat team, and we have priorities. (Ror's hat being blown away by Jon's voomp when he teleports Laurie to Mars is another hat-losing moment that makes me sad.)
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: Oh noes! Rorschach's hat fell down!

In response to my, "What bit are you at?" questions:
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: Right now I'm being disturbed at the fact that the supposedly smartest human in the world protects his files with the password "RAMESES II", the name of one of the four books standing on his desk.

He's a new kind of demon...
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: Veidt being evil = deus ex machina?
[livejournal.com profile] bending_sickle: *giggle* I think that title's been taken by Blue Man Jon, what with being all "God is an American". In any case, Veidt's like, the anti-deus ex machina.
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: ;P Diabolus ex machina.

The inevitable shipping:
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: If it'd be possible to ship Rorschach with anyone, I would, but mostly I just ship ADRIAN/BOYS. ;))
[livejournal.com profile] bending_sickle: IMMA GONNA PIMP RORSCHACH/DAN LIEK WOAH NOW. *PIMPS LIEK WOAH* And Rorschach/Dan/Laurie, on the side. And which boys are you shipping with Adrian, hmm? ;) I mean, we all know he ships Adrian/Alexander the Great, but unless he gets himself a Tardis or Jon helps him out, he ain't gettin' any.
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: Dan/Rorschach? Nah. ;P Alexander as Colin Farell with his boytoy as Jared Leto? ;)
[livejournal.com profile] bending_sickle: Holy fuck. JON, GET YOUR ASS BACK FROM MARS AND GET ADRIAN HIS BOYTOYS! STAT!

And the inevitable crossover maddness:
[livejournal.com profile] seschat: Also, sudden craving to for dimply Papa Winchester. Did you notice how possessed!John looks just like Eddie? *makes shifty eyes*

Things take longer on the internet...
[livejournal.com profile] bending_sickle: Also, OMFG we took 4 hours and 45 minutes to watch a film half that long. EPIIIIIIIIC!!!



Links of the Day:

Lost:
[livejournal.com profile] henrygalelovers's embedded Michael Emerson on The Soup - *sporfle*
Lostpedia's List of Others

Supernatural:
[livejournal.com profile] mummy_daydream's Icons
TikiTyler9's Fanvid Counting Bodies Like Sheep (To The Rhythm of the War Drums) - Fucking awesome doesn't even begin to cover it.
[livejournal.com profile] secretlytodream's Fanvid Burden of Sacrifice
[livejournal.com profile] _izu_'s Art Happy Valentine's Day, Dean (Dean/Cas)
[livejournal.com profile] loaded_remains's My Bloody Valentine Icons - Stills and Animated
[livejournal.com profile] narcotic_doll's Fanvid Empty Heart
BlueDemonLily's Fanvid No More Heroes

Doctor Who:
[livejournal.com profile] snowgrouse's NSFW Anti-Valentine's Stick Doodles
YouTube's Doctor Who Confidential S3E13 The Valiant Quest Part 1/5

Life on Mars:
Fertree's Fanart Something's Missing
[livejournal.com profile] thesmallhobbit's Fic For Valentine's Day

Multifandom:
[livejournal.com profile] soopie's Icons - Lost, Supernatural

Random:
[livejournal.com profile] theweaselking's answers to Velociraptor probability questions
[livejournal.com profile] get_medieval's Hard Copy Books for Sale - *grabby hands*
[livejournal.com profile] yeahisaiditshow's Podcast Season 3 Episode 4 - Special guest Kevin from [livejournal.com profile] made_of_fail_pc. Main topic: Take Responsibly For Your Own Problems, AKA Music and Video Games Did Not Cause You To Do Stupid Shit //// Violence & Gore In Mainstream Comics
Comic Northerner


* Anon., Watchmen Fic: A Boy and His Bird

Date: 2010-02-14 11:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] poisoned-sleep.livejournal.com
Things are pretty bad if Emergency Kleenex is needed. Boo. Love you muffin! <3

I wish I could send my kitten to you for a nice long cuddle.

xxx
Kit-Kat

Date: 2010-02-14 11:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
I love you too! And Macbeth is adorable! Glad to know he's settling in well, and it's super sweet that he's purring and licking you awake already ♥

The documentary thing sounds interesting too! (Although, eep! I'd be freaked of having strangers in my house checking out how things are going with the pet, or just plain in my house, looking at things.) More news when you know about the documentary, please?

Date: 2010-02-15 01:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] poisoned-sleep.livejournal.com
I don't really think it's a proper documentary. I'm going to ask them when I see them next, but after I met them on Friday I started to assume it's a documentary to be used for the rescue's promotional purposes or something. The two people filming were obviously younger than I am, I think they're students.

I'm a little freaked about them coming over, but as long as I can keep the bedroom closed off, I think I'll be fine. (I was more freaked out before I bonded with Macbeth, because I was worried he would be wary of me for weeks or something and maybe they would assume I'm a bad pet owner! But he already loves me, so it's all good now.)

Date: 2010-02-15 02:17 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
OH MY GOD. HOW CAN YOU BE SO AMAZING?!

*reads over Watchmen watching comments and laughs herself silly*

We're made of epicness, we are.

(ALSO PLEASE DON'T BE SAD ANYMORE. :( WANNA WATCH A MOVIE?) ♥♥♥♥

Date: 2010-02-15 02:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
Your awesomeness just sticks to me, that's how :)

(YOU MAKE ME HAPPY, SO THAT'S A PLUS! AND YES PLEASE!)

Date: 2010-02-15 02:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
I've got an English stream of The Picture Of Dorian Gray (2009) handy. Interested?

Also, on Kino.to there are a bunches of movies (many of them English). So just say what, and I'll see what I can find! :D

Date: 2010-02-15 02:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
Bad fingers! *slap* Obey the brain!

Date: 2010-02-15 02:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
0.0 I've been out of the movie thing way too long - I don't recognize those in Kino.to. But Dorian Gray sounds brilliant! ...how does this live-stream thing work? (I is a noob at that, sorry.)

Date: 2010-02-15 02:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
Yeah, you won't ever find anything on Kino.to if you go through the movies alphabetically because they have all kinds of crap archived in there, but it's easy if you know what you're looking for.

Basically, I give you the link and you click on play. ;)

http://www.mystream.to/file-9856758-a88f31d6-Dorian.Gray.avi :D

We breaking your journal again? When shall we start? :D

Date: 2010-02-15 02:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
Also, I think it's better to let the thing load at least until it's at about 10 minutes, otherwise we won't be able to watch in peace. :/

Date: 2010-02-15 03:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
Hang on a tick, it's giving me stern German warnings of missing Webplayer...

Date: 2010-02-15 03:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
*slaps it*

The DivX player? If you need some links, I know where to get it. :S

Date: 2010-02-15 03:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
Yeah, and it's not letting me download it from the site, what with it's 3 options being Germany, Switzerland or Austria and it complaining about my zip code. *kicks webpage*

Date: 2010-02-15 03:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seschat.livejournal.com
NOOOOOOOOOES! *kicks it too*

Does this work for you?

Date: 2010-02-15 03:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bending-sickle.livejournal.com
It's aliiiiive! *crosses fingers* See you on the comment page with teh kittehs of doom! XD

Profile

bending_sickle: (Default)
bending_sickle

February 2017

S M T W T F S
   1 234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 06:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios